Council Governs LDPA



Next meeting

History from: A Wide and Fast-Flowing River

Issues of the Lantern



Some files are in Adobe Acrobat format. If the Reader is not installed on your computer, please click on the icon to download it.

Click here to download Acribat Reader

The LDPA is governed by Officers and a Council elected annually from ministers and lay persons resident in London and the South East.

The President and Council members are directly elected at the Annual General Meeting in March. The Council Chairperson and the Hon Treasurer are elected by the Council from its membership. The District Minister serves as the Secretary of the Council.

For legal purposes, the LDPA is constituted as a Charitable Company Limited by Guarantee. The elected Council members are Directors of the company and the District Minister acts as the Company Secretary. The registered office is the General Assembly offices at Essex Hall, 1-6 Essex St., London WC2R 3HY.

The current President is Alan Ruston. Alan is a retired high-level civil servant, Unitarian historian and President or Chair of many Unitarian bodies and trusts including the British & Foreign Unitarian Association and the Essex Hall Trust. He is a Past President of the Unitarian General Assembly and he is the long-standing Chair of the Watford Unitarian Fellowship.

Eileen Wield is the current Chair of the Council. Eileen is a retired chartered accountant and she continues to assist a number of charities in financial stewardship. She has recently become the Secretary of the GA Sustentation Fund and she has served the Horsham Unitarian Church as Treasurer for a number of years.

The Rev James McClelland keeps the finances in good order as the Hon Treasurer. He has been involved with the LDPA for a number of years and he is also Secretary of the Ministers Pension Fund. James is also a Past President of the Unitarian General Assembly and he is Treasurer of the Essex Hall Trust. Retired from the active ministry, James is now a member of the Croydon congregation.

The Rev John Harley teaches part-time at a private school and he is also the Youth Officer for the Unitarian General Assembly. John’s special role on the LDPA Council is as District Religious Education and Youth Officer.

The other members of Council are:

  • Michael Allured—Member of Golders Green Unitarian Church and Civil Servant
  • Bruce Bebington—Secretary of Effra Road Chapel in Brixton
  • Howard Hague—Member of Unitarian General Assembly Staff and Trustee of Essex Unitarian Church in Kensington
  • Ingrid Tavkar—Member of Unitarian General Assembly Staff and active member of Rosslyn Hill Chapel, Hampstead
  • Peter Tayler—Hon Financial Secretary and newly appointed Caretaker of the Croydon Unitarian Church
  • Steven Williams—Civil servant and member of the Watford Fellowship

LONDON DISTRICT and South Eastern PROVINCIAL ASSEMBLY of Unitarian & Free Christian Churches(Incorporated) No. 649091. Registered Address: Essex Hall, 1/6 Essex Street, London WC2R 3HY Registered Charity No. 233390

Food for the Spirit
Join the conversation